Meridian Economic Development Corporation

Meridian Economic Development Corporation 



Economic development corporations and agencies are a part of every state government and many local-level governments, like the Meridian Economic Development Corporation. 

More often than not, municipal EDCs will operate within one city as their respective region. These organizations are commonly structured as a 501(c)(3) non-profit. EDCs may also be a branch of a government division that acts in the same way.

The Meridian Economic Development Corporation is a not-for-profit corporation, a “Type B” sales tax entity created by the City of Meridian, Texas. The main focus of the group is to improve the quality of life for the people who live and work in and around Meridian. The MEDC has been designated by the City of Meridian as its confidential, no cost, single point of contact for marketing and economic affairs.


Functions of Meridian EDC include but are not limited to: 


  • Providing advice, guidance and resources for people starting up new businesses within the corporation’s territory
  • Offering financial assistance to businesses with grants, loans and tax-exempt bonds
  • Assistance with site selection and determining business locations within a community
  • Recruitment of new employees for businesses and providing assistance with job training
  • Work all sources to facilitate the creation of jobs in the city and surrounding area and to address issues affecting the creation of jobs.
  • Support existing agencies and groups that have as their objective the enhancement of tourism in Meridian.


Part of the function of an economic development corporation is to establish an economic base for thee region. By establishing an economic base, EDCs can analyze the data collected and determine which areas need particular focus in order to bring more money into a particular region. The focus is to increase exports and employment to keep the local economy growing. 

Meridian EDC Board of Directors

President Ron Rieke


Vice President Jerry Mobley


Secretary/Treasurer Marie Garland


Board Member Paul Hardcastle


Board Member Fred Worthey


Board Member Ted Gebhardt


Board Member Michael Woerner